a decade -- and more -- of accolades




  • 2013 IEEE Seymour Cray Award, Marc Snir
  • TCSC Award, IEEE, Marc Snir
  •  Best Paper Prize for Computational Optimization and Applications journal for 2012, Sven Leyffer




  • Readers’ and Editors’ Choice Award, HPCWire, DOE’s cloud computing testbed project, “Magellan
  • Honorary Doctorate, Research and Advanced Studies Center of the National Polytechnic Institute of Mexico, Ian Foster



  • Advanced Scientific Computing Research Top 10 Accomplishment Award, U.S. DOE, Portable, Extensible Software Toolkit (PETSc)
  • Outstanding Young Alumni Award, Clemson University, Rob Ross
  • Achievement Award, World Academy of Science, Raj Kettimuthu


  • Patent awarded, U.S. Patent 7,180,082, “Development of a method for plasma formation for extreme ultraviolet lithography-theta pinch,” Ahmed Hassanein (Purdue), Isak Konkashbaev (Argonne) and Bryan Rice (Sematech)
  • Data Analysis Award, SC07 (Supercomputing International Conference), Ian Foster, Ti Leggert, Mike Papka, and Mike Papka
  • Storage Challenge Competition, SC07 (Supercomputing International Conference), Pavan Balaji
  • Fellow, Kavli Frontiers Fellow, Todd Munson
  • Outstanding Achievement Award, National Cancer Institute’s Cancer Biomedical Informatics Grid, Raj Kettimuthu


  • Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization, Mathematical Programming Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, Sven Leyffer
  • Fellow, ACM, William Gropp
  • Director's Award for Merit Review Excellence, National Science Foundation, Hans Kaper
  • Industry Leadership Award, GridWorld, Ian Foster


  • 50 Most Powerful People in Networking, Network World, Ian Foster
  • Achievement Award, World Academy of Science, Raj Kettimuthu


  • Arthur Holly Compton Award, Ian Foster
  • Top 50 Agenda Setter,, Ian Foster
  • Annual Publishing Award, PE, Dan Negrut
  • DOE Citation 2004 MICS Accomplishments
  • Wireless Emergency Response Team Award, Sandra Bittner
  • Fellow, World Technology Network, Rick Stevens


  • Beale-Orchard-Hays Prize, Mathematical Programming Society, Jorge Moré, T. Munson, E. Dolan
  • Top 50 Agenda Setter,, Ian Foster
  • Fellow, AAAS, Ian Foster
  • Fellow, AAAS, Rick Stevens
  • Outstanding Mentor Award, DOE, Gregor von Laszewski
  • R&D 100 Award, R&D Magazine, Ian Foster (with S. Tuecke) for Globus Toolkit
  • Innovator of the Year, R&D Magazine, Ian Foster
  • Innovator of the Year, Info World, Ian Foster (with S. Tuecke)
  • Lovelace Medal, MIT Technology Review, Ian Foster
  • Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer, Federal Laboratory Consortium, Ian Foster and S. Tuecke
  • Illinois Innovation Award, Ian Foster
  • DOE Citation FY2003 MICS Accomplishments