Argonne National Laboratory

Wilkinson Fellowship in Scientific Computing

J. H. Wilkinson

J. H. Wilkinson

The Mathematics and Computer Science (MCS) Division of Argonne National
Laboratory invites outstanding candidates to apply for the J. H.
Wilkinson Fellowship in Scientific Computing. The appointment is for one
year and may be renewed for another year.

This fellowship was created in memory of James Hardy Wilkinson, F.R.S.,
who had a close association with the Mathematics and Computer Science
Division as a consultant and guiding spirit for the EISPACK and LINPACK
projects. The Wilkinson Fellowship is intended to encourage scientists
actively engaged in state-of-the-art research in scientific computing.
Candidates must have received a recent Ph.D. prior to the beginning of
the appointment. The benefits of the appointment include a highly
competitive salary, moving expenses, and a generous professional travel

The appointment will be in the MCS Division, which has strong programs
in scientific computing, software tools, and computational mathematics.
Of special interest are algorithms and software for linear algebra,
optimization, differential equations, computational differentiation,
uncertainty quantification, stochastic systems, statistics, and
unstructured mesh computations; software tools for parallel computing;
and numerical methods for computational science problems and the
analysis of big data. For further information, see

Argonne is located in the southwestern Chicago suburbs, offering the
advantages of affordable housing, good schools, and easy access to the
cultural attractions of the city.

In order to receive full consideration, applications and letters should
be submitted by December 8, 2017. The selection process is expected to
conclude in late winter/early spring of 2018.

Interested candidates can also apply for an Argonne Named Postdoc
position. Please contact by October 1, 2017 if you
are interested in this opportunity.

If you are interest in this opportunity, please apply at

2018 Wilkinson Postdoctoral Fellowship committee:
Sven Leyffer (chair), Anthony Austin, Prasanna Balaprakash, Julie
Bessac, Emil Constantinescu, Anshu Dubey, Misun Min, Barry F. Smith,
Stefan M. Wild