Workshop Program (Tentative: Subject to Change)

[8:15am - 8:30am] Opening Remarks

Pavan Balaji and Min Si

[8:30am - 9:30am] Session 1: Keynote Talk

Title: T.B.D.

Dr. Antonio Pena, Barcelona Supercomputing Center

[9:30am - 10:00am] Tea/Coffee Break

[10:00am - 12:00pm] Session 2: Scalable Distributed Computing

Session Chair: Min Si, Argonne National Laboratory

  • "Improving Valiant Routing for Slim Fly Networks", Deyu Han, Zhaofeng Wang and David Bunde.
  • "Efficient Broadcasting Algorithm in Harary-like Networks", Puspal Bhabak, Hovhannes Harutyunyan and Peter Kropf.
  • "Programming Model for Developing Supercomputer Combinatorial Solvers", Ghaith Tarawneh, Andrey Mokhov, Matthew Naylor, Alex Rast, Simon Moore, David Thomas, Alex Yakovlev and Andrew Brown.
  • "Efficient Scalable Computing through Flexible Applications and Adaptive Workloads", Sergio Iserte, Rafael Mayo, Enrique S. Quintana-Orti, Vicenc Beltran, and Antonio J. Pena.

[12:00pm - 1:30pm] Lunch Break

[1:30pm - 3:30pm] Session 3: On-node Optimizations

Session Chair: Taisuke Boku, University of Tsukuba

  • "A Region-Aware Multi-Objective Auto-Tuner for Parallel Programs", Klaus Kofler, Juan J. Durillo, Philipp Gschwandtner and Thomas Fahringer.
  • "A Parallel Shared-Memory Architecture for OWL Ontology Classification", Zixi Quan and Volker Haarslev.
  • "Communication-Computation Overlapping with Dynamic Loop Scheduling for Preconditioned Parallel Iterative Solvers on Multicore/Manycore Clusters", Kengo Nakajima and Toshihiro Hanawa.
  • "OpenMP Memkind: An Extension for Heterogeneous Physical Memories", Xi Wang, John D. Leidel and Yong Chen.

[3:30pm - 4:00pm] Tea/Coffee Break

[4:00pm - 6:00pm] Session 4: Invited Papers

Session Chair: John D. Leidel, Tactical Computing Laboratories

  • "On a Storage System Software Stack for Extreme Scale Data Centric Computing", Sai Narasimhamurthy.
  • "Toward Highly Productive Parallel Programming on Large Scale Accelerated Computing", Taisuke Boku, Hitoshi Murai, Masahiro Nakao, Jinpil Lee, Mitsuhisa Sato, Akihiro Tabuchi, and Keisuke Tsugane. [paper]
  • "Towards Portable and Adaptable Asynchronous Communication for One-Sided Applications", Min Si, Jeff Hammond, Masamichi Takagi, and Yutaka Ishikawa. [paper]
  • "Integrating Memory Perspective into the BSC Performance Tools", Harald Servat, Jesus Labarta, Hans-Christian Hoppe, Judit Gimenez, and Antonio J. Pena.

[6:00pm - 6:05pm] Closing Remarks

Pavan Balaji and Min Si